Dana Claxton Wins 2023 Audain Prize for the Visual Arts

The Department of Art History, Visual Art and Theory extends our heartfelt congratulations to Head and Professor Dana Claxton for winning the 2023 Audain Prize for the Visual Arts 


The Audain Prize for the Visual Arts is awarded annually to a distinguished Canadian artist in recognition of outstanding artistic achievement, and carries a $100,000 cash prize. Since its establishment in 2004, the Audain Prize has honoured some of Canada’s most influential artists including Ann Kipling, E.J. Hughes, Eric Metcalfe, Gordon Smith, Jeff Wall, Liz Magor, Rodney Graham, Marian Penner Bancroft, Takao Tanabe, Gathie Falk, Fred Herzog, Michael Morris, Paul Wong, Carole Itter, Stan Douglas, and Ian Wallace.  

We would also like to congratulate our current MFA Visual Art candidate Tiffany Law on being selected as one of the winners of the 2023 Audain Travel Award.

This award, supported by the Audain Foundation and administered by University of British Columbia, Vancouver and Okanagan, University of Victoria, Simon Fraser University, and Emily Carr University of Art and Design, provides five full-time Bachelor of Fine Arts or Master of Fine Arts students in B.C. an opportunity to travel to view art.

Previous Audain Travel Recipients include Sarv Iraji (MFA ‘23), Romi Kim (MFA ‘22), Xan Shian (MFA ‘21), and Rosamunde Bordo (MFA ‘20).  

News published on: