Anton Lee

MA (Seoul National University)
BA (Sogang University)

Anton Lee specializes in the history and theory of photography, concentrating on the geopolitical contexts of European and Anglo-American countries from the early 20th century to the present. This primary scope of research has been extended to other periods and regions in the global histories of photography, including East Asia and the Pacific Northwest. Lee completed his doctorate in Art History in November 2018 at UBC under the direction of his supervisor Professor Catherine M. Soussloff. Also at UBC, he has previously taught lectures, seminars, and tutoring sessions on postmodern and contemporary art, photography history and theory, and art historical methods.

Lee’s current research prioritizes transforming his doctoral dissertation into a book under the provisional title of Nouvelle Photographie Américaine: The Rise of Photographic Sequence in the United States and France, 1968–1989. The book examines the methods of sequencing developed by American photographers Duane Michals, Ralph Gibson, and Robert Frank, whose work wielded great influence in France throughout the 1970s and 1980s. Lee’s writing uncovers previously overlooked interactions between the avantgarde photographers and their critics in the United States and France over the two decades essential to the history of postmodern art.

Lee has spoken internationally at conferences, workshops, and panel discussions. His writings have appeared or are forthcoming in various academic journals and art magazines, including History of Photography, Materiali Foucaultiani, and Canadian Art. He is the author of “The Photogenic Invention of Thought-Emotion: Duane Michals and Michel Foucault,” in Foucault on the Arts and Letters: Perspectives for the Twenty-First Century, edited by Soussloff (London, UK: Rowman & Littlefield International, 2016), pp. 25–43. Lee was the Kenneth J. Botto Research Fellow at the Center for Creative Photography in Tucson, Arizona in 2016 and the Visiting Researcher at the Université Paris-Sorbonne in 2015