2017 Lind Prize Nominees from AHVA

Mar 21st, 2017
Presentation House Gallery has just announced the shortlist for the second annual Philip B. Lind Emerging Artist Prize. Congratulations to AHVA MFA student Brian Lye and BFA Natasha Habedus!   Brian Lye Shitty Magician #3 (still) 2016, one minute, HD, silent Be sure to check out the Lind Prize exhibition at Presentation House Gallery, April […]

First Book by Professor Jaleh Mansoor: Marshall Plan Modernism

Nov 21st, 2016
The Department of Art History, Visual Art and Theory congratulates Professor Jaleh Mansoor on the publication of her first book, Marshall Plan Modernism: Italian Postwar Abstraction and the Beginnings of Autonomia (Duke University Press). The book expands upon ideas Mansoor first explored in her PhD dissertation at Columbia University, under the guidance of Benjamin Buchloh […]

Release of Foucault on the Arts and Letters, Catherine M. Soussloff, ed.

Nov 8th, 2016
Congratulations to Professor Catherine M. Soussloff on the publication of her new book, Foucault on the Arts and Letters, a collection of twelve essays addressing Foucault’s thought and its impact on thinking about the visual arts, literature, and aesthetic discourse in the twenty-first century. The edited volume grew out of a conference jointly sponsored by […]

Dana Claxton Wins 2016 Mayor’s Arts Award for Visual Arts

Oct 17th, 2016
Congratulations to AHVA faculty member Dana Claxton who has been awarded the 2016 Mayor’s Arts Award for Visual Arts and to AHVA MFA graduate Carlos Colín who was named by Claxton as an emerging artist who demonstrates the promise of the next generation in the Visual Arts. Twenty-four individuals, one artist collective, and one business are […]

A Thousand Kinds of Wind Unveiled at Gordon Neighbourhood House

Jun 8th, 2016
A community-based experiential learning project On May 17, 2016, Gordon Neighbourhood House in Vancouver’s West End hosted a celebration of A Thousand Kinds of Wind, the recently installed sculptural work in the atrium of the building. The event recognized both the achievements of students from Professor Richard Prince’s VISA 401D class in the Department of […]

James Caswell (1937–2016)

Feb 15th, 2016
James Oliver Caswell (1937–2016) was a historian of Chinese art. He received his PhD from the University of Michigan in 1970 and was hired at UBC in 1971. Dr. Caswell was Head of the Fine Arts Department (now the Department of Art History, Visual Art & Theory) from 1981 to 1997, and then again in […]

AHVA MFA Grads A Akhavan and R Boisjoly in the news!

Oct 29th, 2015
ABBAS AKHAVAN WINS THE 2015 SOBEY ART AWARD! Halifax, October 28, 2015 – The prestigious 2015 Sobey Art Award has been presented to Abbas Akhavan  representing the Ontario region during tonight’s annual Award Announcement Gala at the Art Gallery of Nova Scotia. The 2015 finalists emerged from a longlist of 25 Canadian artists under the […]

AHVA Faculty Dr. Charlotte Townsend-Gault in the news!

Apr 27th, 2015
Dr. Charlotte Townsend-Gault awarded the 2015 Canada Prize in the Humanities by the Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences Native Art of the Northwest Coast: A History of Changing Ideas, edited by Charlotte Townsend-Gault, Jennifer Kramer and Ki-ke-in has been awarded the 2015 Canada Prize in the Humanities by the Federation for the Humanities […]

CCST Graduate Shahana Rajani in the news!

Apr 17th, 2015
Shahana Rajani AHVA CCST Graduate in the news in Karachi The Tentative Collective is a group of young people working throughout the city of Karachi, sharing ideas and resources and producing images, but mostly projecting images from a rickshaw-powered projector, and in that way attempting to connect the experiences of artists, institutions, and ethnically diverse […]

AHVA Faculty T’ai Smith in the News

Feb 5th, 2015
AHVA Faculty member T’ai Smith wins American Craft Council Emerging Scholar Award! Minneapolis, MN: The American Craft Council is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2015 American Craft Council Emerging Voices Award, which recognizes one emerging artist, four shortlisted artists, and one emerging scholar. The award is made possible by the generous support of […]